Posted by: altmike | September 30, 2012

Breaking Free of my Pockets

 

One of the hardest things people have to go through in life is being teased and bullied. It is becoming more and more prominent in today’s day and age. Unfortunately in recent years we have seen a huge increase in the number of kids who take their own lives because of them being bullied. Overcoming it is a huge challenge for many kids and adults alike. Society seems to have its own set of standards of how everyone should look, act and be like. However not all humans are built alike and that my friends is what makes us unique.

I definitely know the effects of being bullied. It has been prominent in my life to this day. On any given day, for whatever reason, someone who wants to get under your skin will use whatever ammo they can on you without even thinking twice about the consequences. I have been called every name you can think of all throughout my life by people who feel the need to make themselves feel bigger. But as a wise man once said “it’s not what happens to you that defines you, it’s how you react.” Growing up I used to get very mad at any one who commented about my hands. I couldn’t understand why they felt that laughing and calling me names made them feel better about themselves.  As the years went on, I leaned on family and friends and most importantly myself for support. I did what is in my opinion, the best thing you can do in a situation like that and that is to thicken up your skin. I just ignored anyone who commented from then on and passed them off as ignorant. That was the best thing for me because I was sure of myself. Don’t let me fool you, this didn’t happen overnight, but I realized that what these people were doing was just trying to hurt me with words and that’s all they were, just words. If I didn’t give those words any value then they couldn’t hurt me.

Everyone struggles at some point in their life that usually pertains to image in some sort of way. People get called fat, or anorexic. They are ostracized for being too short or not smart enough; Having acne, or a scar that makes them different from everyone else. I am here to tell you that we can all work on ourselves to becoming better, but what we must do first is embrace who we are and not let other people get in the way of making us feel good about ourselves. Having my hands be different has allowed me to see people and character in a different way. I used to hide my hands in my pockets every chance I could, because I didn’t want to be judged. What I learned was that by doing that I was being untrue to who I was and not embracing the gift I was given.

Yes, people get bullied all the time, but we can’t buy into what people say about us. We are all special and unique in our own way. If someone makes fun of you, then thicken up your skin and brush it off your shoulder. If they tell you can’t do something; Prove them wrong!

Can’t is not an Excuse

Responses

  1. Very well written. . Mike we are very proud of you. Uncle Ed.

    • Thank you so much Uncle Ed. Means a lot!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

