Posted by: altmike | October 6, 2012

Surround yourself with positivity

Many of us look to our family members and friends when we need support, guidance and encouragement. It is these people that can tell us what the best path to go down and also give us positive reinforcement when needed. On the contrary, we seem to always find people in our lives that do none of these things and at times, do the exact opposite. In order to meet our goals and be successful we have to surround ourselves with positive influences.

Growing up I was lucky enough to have my parents and my older sister as my backbone. They knew the struggles that I faced as I walked out every day into an imperfect society that tends to judge first and ask questions later. Though they always encouraged me to be myself, and if someone didn’t accept me or like me for who I was, then I should move on.  What I learned early on is that, if someone is being a negative influence on your life, then you don’t need them in your life, period. Why waste our time with people who care more about their own ego than they do about us?

There are always going to be “haters” out there that all they care about is bringing you down to their level and making you feel less about yourself. In that instance you need to lean on the positive people that are in your life more than ever.  We should only surround ourselves with people who value and support us for who we are; anyone else we shouldn’t give attention to.

Friends are only friends if they promote your wellbeing and encourage your pursuit of happiness. Don’t encourage those who spew negativity, instead relish in the presence of those who wish nothing but the best for you. I know from experience that we keep some people in our lives just to have them there because we don’t want to feel alone or we think that they really care when in reality they could care less. I never considered someone a friend if at any point they ever doubted my abilities. The people we surround ourselves with speaks on our character; we are more likely to succeed if we surround our self with positivity.

As we go forward, use the words spoken by negative influences as ammo to further accomplish your goals. Learn from the individuals that question your abilities and find and maintain those friends and family members who encourage you at all times.  If someone is not willing to stick by you during your struggles, then they certainly don’t deserve to bask in your glory days alongside you.

Can’t is not an Excuse

Responses

  1. […] arise. Last week a great opportunity came from a very dear friend of mine named Marnie. In one of my earlier posts I talked about keeping positive people close in your life and this is why. Last week I received a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

