Posted by: altmike | October 8, 2012

Goals lead to Success

One of the largest factors in setting yourself up for success, is the process that you go through to get there. When people hear others tell them to set goals for themselves, they usually pass it off. This is because most of the time we don’t allocate our goals with the basis of time and we don’t consider the work that is needed to reach that goal. If we say that our goal is to write a book someday, then what we do is become satisfied we the fact that we just wrote down a goal. However, instead of working towards it we just sit and wait for opportunity to come knocking on our door.

The best way I have learned to set goals is to create short term and long term goals. And instead of just writing them down and forgetting about them, you go back once a week and elaborate on what you have done to help accomplish those goals. As a wise man once said, “A goal is only a goal if you are working towards it, if not, then it is considered a wish.” We have to take responsibility for our own paths and understand that we can’t expect to receive something if we have never worked towards getting it.

Goals were extremely important to me growing up. I would only set short term goals that I knew that I could achieve and I would set long term goals that I would go back and add what I have done to work on them. I would set goals for academics and athletics mostly. I would tell myself that my goal is to be able to make ten free throws in a row by the end of the week. By doing that it not only solidified that goal in my mind deeper, but it gave me a physical checklist to refer to.

No one can stop you in the pursuit of your goals except for you. Kids told me growing up that I would never be able to dunk a basketball because I couldn’t palm it in my hand. It was true that my hand wasn’t big enough to palm it but I made adjustments and held it with both hands until the point of actually dunking it. Then when I was a sophomore in college after all of my hard work and dedication,  I accomplished my goal and dunked a basketball. I could have easily just let the naysayers let me get down on myself and make excuses based on the hand I was dealt to never accomplish this goal. But I refused to let someone tell me I couldn’t do something and I refused to let myself use excuses. If you believe in your abilities and are willing to put in the extra work, then anything is possible and any goal is attainable.

Go out and write down some of your short term and long term goals and don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do something. Any goal is possible with the right mindset.

Can’t is not an Excuse

Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

