Posted by: altmike | October 13, 2012

Motivating Our Youth

Video of My Speech Part 1

Part 2

part 3

I have always been a strong believer in thinking positively and taking opportunities when they arise. Last week a great opportunity came from a very dear friend of mine named Marnie. In one of my earlier posts I talked about keeping positive people close in your life and this is why. Last week I received a text from a friend of mine who is a fifth grade teacher at an elementary school here in Reno. She has known me for the better part of the last ten years and has been keeping up with my blog. She asked me if I would be interested in doing a motivational speech for about 100 students; without hesitation I accepted.

I was absolutely honored to be given the opportunity to do something like this. When I started this blog, I wanted to impact and inspire others and I knew that this was the perfect opportunity to do just that. I did my speech on Wednesday October 10th and it was honestly one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. This was the first speech I have ever given on this topic and to be perfectly honest, giving speeches intimidates the hell out of me. However, I was so excited to so this one because I was talking about something that was truly important to me and a topic that I’m extremely familiar with. The looks on the kids’ faces and their reactions to what I was saying was incredible. It was a great group of kids that I talked to. I could tell that a lot of them face challenges everyday as well. Just talking with my friend for a few minutes the day before, she told me how so many of them deal with getting picked on and struggles at home on a daily basis. I hoped that they would respond well and take something away from my story and based on their reaction and their questions I really believe that they did.

The main points I wanted to hit with this group were the ones that actually mattered to them at their age. Advocating that worry about what other people say about you really doesn’t matter and when people try to bring you down to not listen to them. The other point was to not use can’t as an excuse, ever! My motto throughout this blog has been that “Can’t is not an Excuse,” and I believe that if we instill this motto in our youth at a young enough age, then it will enhance their abilities and it will empower them to achieve their goals. I can’t thank Marnie and those kids enough for giving me such a great opportunity to help achieve my goal.

Take the word “Can’t” out of your vocabulary starting today. Don’t allow your kids, your friends or your peers to say that word, because nothing good comes out of it. If you believe in yourself enough you can accomplish anything. When opportunities arise, take them, because you never know how long it will be until another one comes your way!

Can’t is not an Excuse

Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

