Posted by: altmike | October 25, 2012

How Sports Changed My Life

Sports to many, is a way of life. It is the reason why families come together and how vacations are spent. For as long as I can remember, sports have always been a part of my life. As an infant there are pictures of me playing with footballs and baseballs in my living room. However, sports were not just a spectator event for me, I was determined to participate as well. I remember being about 7 or 8 years old and my Dad taking me down to a vacant parking lot down the street from our house. I begged him for weeks to play catch with me because I had just received my first baseball glove. My Dad was slightly hesitant, but on this day he decided to give it a shot. To my Dad’s astonishment, after about two or three throws I started to get the hang of it and had no problem catching the ball. From that day on, I was hooked.

I wanted to play every sport that I could because I loved being active. From hockey to football, basketball and tennis, there was no sport I wouldn’t try. As I got older I used sports to prove myself. I always knew that kids at recess would pre judge me and I could see it in their eyes that in their head they were thinking, “I wonder what he is able to do?” Well for those of you who have ever played any sport, you know that there is no hiding or lying in sports. Either you can shoot a basketball ball or you can’t, you can’t fake your way through a set of tennis either. Your abilities are on full display in an athletic activity and that is just how I liked it. It was my way of proving myself and my abilities to others. When I was playing basketball I could show someone that there was nothing I could do and that I refused to be considered “disabled” or limited in any facet of my life. It allowed me to fit in and feel like every other kid on the blacktop.

I think that sports are the best thing for kids, especially in today’s day and age. It teaches kids character and the ability to work with others. Best of all, it instills a competitive nature in kids too because think about it, as adults we compete every day. We compete for jobs, for promotions, not a day goes by were the idea of competition doesn’t cross our mind. Sports allows kids to learn how to compete with character, respect and integrity which are all qualities that we look for in our leaders of the future. Some may say that sports are dangerous and that they don’t want their kids to get hurt. This is a viable argument; however there is a risk that at any given moment we can hurt ourselves walking across the street. A sports injury makes a kid toughen his or her skin a little bit more and help them learn to get back up and try it again.

Without sports, I would not be the person I am today. I would not have the confidence in my abilities or believe in myself as much as I do. It taught me how to make goals and to work together with others to accomplish a common goal. Please comment and let me know what you think and let me know what sports have done for you and your family!

Can’t is not an Excuse

Responses

  1. Again, you make me proud to be your Aunt. Even though your grandparents (Ev, Mimi, and Ray) and Uncle John aren’t here, I know how proud they’d be of you.

  2. Your writing is well organized and the message is clear. Sports do instill a set of skills that reach beyond the edge of the court, arena, or field. During my teen years I pushed myself to play various sports that interested me, but it is as you said “you know that there is no hiding or lying in sports.” While I worked hard I am embarrassed to admit that I never gave any one sport a hundred percent. I simply didn’t know how to push myself and it was out of the fear of rejection that I didn’t want to allow myself to become emotionally invested.

    Continuing on my path of personal development one of my goals during the time I am in Korea is continue my martial arts training that I started when I was a kid. After reading your article I feel reminded of the broader perspective of sports and will do my best to channel that into a positive energy which I will carry with me to each practice.

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

