Posted by: altmike | October 28, 2012

Inspiration: The story of Anthony Robles

When I started this blog just a month ago, one person that popped into my head that inspired me to begin telling my story was a gentleman by the name of Anthony Robles. Like myself, he was born with a birth defect. He is a year older than I am, born in 1988 and he was born with only one leg. Growing up he had the support of his family to accomplish any feat that stood before him. When he was 14 he decided that wrestling would be the obstacle that he would overcome.

From reading his bio on his website, he talks about how he was the smallest kid on the team when he began high school and regarded as probably the worst in the city. However he didn’t give up, he worked harder and pushed himself to his full potential. When he ended his high school career with an overall record in his junior and senior year of 96 wins and 0 losses and became the 2-time Arizona state champion and High School National champion…Did I mention that he did this with only one leg? He refused to let anyone tell him that he couldn’t do something and how in his words, he would truly be “Unstoppable.” People told him that he was not good enough to wrestle in college and that a person with one leg couldn’t compete at that level. So what did he do? He walked on to the wrestling team at Arizona State University. Again with the right mindset and incredible will, he became a 3 time all American and was the 2011 NCAA National Champion.

I have the utmost respect for this man because he exemplifies everything that I preach. That no matter what obstacle you face as long as you put your mind to it, you can do anything. Since graduating he is now doing motivational speaking and getting his message and his story out there. From reading about him I can see that we share a lot of the same ideals and values. I commend him for his courage and applaud him for all the success and accolades that have been bestowed upon him because he deserves it. As I said before he is truly an inspiration to me and a large part of the reason for me starting this blog.

There is always someone out there that has it worse than you do and more often than not, those people are more willing to work harder than anybody else. Even with having a birth defect to my hands it is stories like Anthony’s that make me take a step back and say “If he can become a national wrestling Champion with dealing with all of the hardships he has gone through; then there is no excuse for me to not accomplish my goals.” I strongly recommend reading more on this incredible individual.

Can’t is not an Excuse

Responses

  1. […] Mike Alt – Can’t Is Not An Excuse  […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

