Posted by: altmike | November 11, 2012

Persevere When Goals Aren’t Accomplished

It seems like we hear about success stories every day that both encourage and deter us from completing our goals. It seems as though we see sports stars every day that have made it big and make it look easy. Athletes like Alex Rodriguez and Michael Jordan among so many others are people that we look up to and try to follow in their footsteps. They make the idea of success as an easy thing to achieve. However it takes a lot of dedication and perseverance. There are lessons of failure that occur before a goal or success can be achieved.

I started playing basketball in the 8th grade and played all the way up until my junior year. Needless to say, I was not in the best of shape In the 8th grade and I had a lot to learn in the following season and the following years ahead. I dedicated myself to getting better every day of practice and every summer. I took it upon myself to practice at every opportunity so that I could contribute to the team. I scored 0 points my 8th grade year, 3 points my freshman year and 6 points my sophomore year. I had a deep passion for the game of basketball and knew that if I kept working hard then my time would come. I got my big break my junior year when I was the only junior on the JV team. I averaged at least 5 points a game and started every game that season.

I went in to my senior year with my sights on a varsity letter in basketball. I was cut that year and was heartbroken. It was tough swallowing that pain after all of the work that I put into the game that I loved. The one thing I didn’t do is quit the game. Even though I didn’t make my high school team I still pursued basketball. I played on intermural and city league teams that kept me involved in the game. I knew that my place was I basketball in some way or another but I didn’t know in what facet that would come. Last week I realized what that was; I was given the opportunity to coach at the school that I played for and dedicated myself to. This season I will be the assistant coach for the junior varsity team at Damonte Ranch high school.

Even though our goals don’t always work out for us that does not give us reason to give up. It requires us to reevaluate our goals and see what we can do differently and it what ways we can make that unsuccessful goal a success.To all my readers, never quit on a goal if it doesn’t work out exactly the way you planned. See in what areas you can be successful and create new goals from there. My goal was always to be the best basketball player I could be. Now I want to be the best coach that I can be to develop the next generation of athletes.

Cant is not an Excuse

Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

