Posted by: altmike | November 18, 2012

Don’t take Life too seriously and Laugh a Little

Laughter is the best thing in the world. If you haven’t laughed in a while I suggest that you take a moment and find something funny because we honestly enjoy life so much more when laughter is a part of it. One thing I was told growing up was that if you can’t laugh at yourself then you can’t laugh at any one else.

This means that if you go through life being so serious that you have lost the ability to make fun of yourself sometimes then you need to make a few adjustments on your outlook. Growing up with my hands always being a target for being bullied, I never wanted to make jokes about them or condone laughter from other people. Other people’s laughter when directed at my hands I would always take offense to, but one day I remembered that quote and it changed my outlook on the situation. If someone had mal intentions with their comments then that would be something that I would not stand for. However, if someone just made a quick joke and it was in fact funny, then why not chuckle a little. I learned that it made things worse when I would react negatively to offhand comments like that but instead if I just laughed it off or threw my own little quip in there then the expected reaction wouldn’t be there.

I was able to get to a point where I was comfortable enough in my own skin that I could laugh off comments like that. I remember in school one day a teacher saw someone flip someone off and later myself and a group of others were questioned and I remember saying  without hesitation “Well it sure as hell couldn’t have been me!”

To all my readers, don’t take life too seriously. Learn to shrug off comments and at times even put in your own little joke because when you do that the reaction from the other person is completely different and it shows confidence and easygoingness.

Can’t is not an Excuse

Responses

  1. I so, so agree. Granpa Alt’s family was “crazy”. I mean that in the most complimentary way. Everyone enjoyed a good laugh. I’ve always enjoyed a good laugh (I was fortunate enough to work with so many great people who had the same attitude). I’ve also learned since Uncle John’s death, that life is too short to be so serious all the time. I have adopted this phrase…”take time every day to do something/be silly”. Love ya…..Auntie


Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

