Posted by: altmike | November 25, 2012

Overcome your Obstacle

If I had a dollar for every time someone told me I couldn’t do something, I would be a very rich man. By now you might have realized that I absolutely hate the word “Can’t.” I feel that it’s a cheap way to allow yourself to not try. In the day and age that we live in today, we need people who are do-ers, not people wait around for others to do it for them. I have always said that when people tell you that you can’t do something that that should enable you to put a chip on your shoulder and use those words as fuel. It does neither the world nor you any good to be saddened by those who downgrade your abilities. Words are just words and like the old saying “actions speak louder than words.”  If someone’s says to you that you will never get out of poverty and that you will never make anything of yourself and then a few years later you do just that, then you just did two things. Most importantly, you improved your way of life and secondly you motivated yourself enough to the point that words didn’t stop you and you persevered in the face of adversity.

For me they told me:

-You will never be able to write a paper

-You will have to have someone type for you because that’s impossible without all of your fingers

-You won’t make the high school basketball team because you aren’t good enough

-You won’t be able to lift weights because you can’t hold on to them

-You will never be a collegiate athlete

I tell you these things not to boast, but to prove the point that had I believed these nay-sayers, then you would not be reading this right now because typing would have been something I couldn’t have done.

Instead…you are reading this and that is because words cannot prevent you from doing anything. Your mindset is the only thing that can hinder results.

Is it hard to overcome obstacles?…You’re damn right it is!

Is it worth it in the end?…You bet it is!

Starting today, look at the world with a positive state of mind. You are strong enough to overcome any obstacle that stands before you. You are brave enough to face your fears. Stand tall to those who doubt you. Enable yourself to succeed in every opportunity. It all starts with you believing in yourself.

In the comment section below, tell me what your obstacle is and how you plan on overcoming it!

Can’t is not an Excuse!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

