Posted by: altmike | November 30, 2012

Turning My Vision Into Reality

At the beginning of this year I had a vision. While I was sitting around one day contemplating my purpose, a thought crossed my mind. I envisioned myself making a video that I could use to inspire and motivate others. I knew that I was given these hands for a reason and that it wasn’t random. And at this moment I realized what that reason was and how I could reach other people. I had scripted the whole video in my head down to every scene. But like a normal college student I procrastinated and put off making the video. I kept telling myself that it was a great idea and that “I’ll do it one day.” It was one of those things where I didn’t have a deadline and it was just an idea so I didn’t take that next step to actually make it a reality. That was until one day.

hand_pic 1I signed up for management 491 with Dr. Bret Simmons this semester at UNR and on the first night of class a light turned on in my head. He told us for this class that we would create our own brand and through this brand we would demonstrate how we create value. I literally had an epiphany when he told me this. Everything came full circle and I realized that this was my moment to reach out and inspire people. Towards the end of his lecture he told us that our final project would be to create a 3-5  minute video about our brand…*epiphany #2*.  It felt like it was meant to be and that this was that opportunity and that deadline that I needed to actually fulfill my vision.

The overwhelming support that I have received in the past 5 days since I released my video has been amazing. I am so thankful for everyone that has reached out to me and those who have shared the video as well. My goal from the first night of that class was to “Inspire the world,” and if I could make an impact on just one person then I felt like I did my job. In 5 days my video has reached almost 3,000 views which is incredible, however my goal now is 1 Million views!

I wrote a post a couple weeks ago about how some people have great ideas but don’t take that next step to accomplish their goal. I was that person until I took this class that changed my life and my path. If you have an idea or a goal then go do it, accomplish it. Don’t wait around for someone to force you to do it because that opportunity may never come. Don’t be scared to take that next step because it could be the best decision you ever make. I was very scared at first to talk about my hands on a blog, much less video tape myself because it made me completely transparent to the world. But I did it and you can to!

Please, if you like the video, please share it and together we can inspire the world!

Can’t is not an Excuse

Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

