Posted by: altmike | December 28, 2012

Don’t Judge too Quickly

Judgment is a tricky thing. I have always tried to stay distant from judgmental people because I felt that that was a character flaw that I didn’t care for. However as a walk through the day I am reminded of the judgment of others every day; and not for the reasons that you might think. We pre judge people every day of our lives. As we walk past someone in the supermarket or in the mall, we automatically begin to make assumptions about somebodies character based on what they look like, how they dress and the way they carry themselves. This assumption is sometimes right but usually wrong. I always loved the saying that “When you assume, you make an ASS out of U and ME” (A-S-S-U-M-E).  This is so true because when you assume something about someone without having any factual evidence, you usually make a fool out of yourself.

keep-calm-and-don-t-judge-38Martin Luther King said it best during the Civil Rights movement; he said “I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.” I couldn’t have said it better myself! It is far easier to judge someone by categorizing them with other people that you have previously met, rather than taking the time to really get to know the person. This is what happens all too often with students that are put in a downtrodden school. If a student that has immense potential gets brought up in a community or school that isn’t as highly regarded as others, then that student gets automatically overlooked based on the people around them and the people that have come before him or her.

The main reason why this topic came to mind to me was because this happens to me on a daily basis. There are some days where I wear a suit and tie and a pea-coat and mere strangers will say hello and smile and treat me with the utmost respect. Then there are other days when I wear a hat backwards a hoodie and some basketball shorts and I am automatically ostracized from certain communities because I resemble a “Thug.” However, at the end of the day I am the same person. Whether I am wearing a suit or baggy clothes, I am still Mike Alt the 23 year old college student that is trying to inspire the world. The sad thing is that based on how I dress will determine how well my previous statement is taken seriously.

I want all of my readers to realize that pre-judging others is something that everyone does, but it is something that we can consciously do less of. Don’t base your perception of someone only on the way they look because you could honestly be missing out on meeting an incredible individual. Look for the best in people and share a smile with someone rather than a scowl…You never know, it just might make their day!

Can’t Is Not An Excuse

Responses

  1. Mike, you impress us everytime with your insight!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

