Posted by: altmike | February 19, 2013

Motivation For the Day

Since the super bowl passed a few weeks ago and the ravens won I have a new found respect for one person in particular. Ray Lewis who was the middle Linebacker for the Baltimore ravens plays with the most passion I have ever seen.  His work ethic and desire is second to none. People may or may not like him for one reason or another, but the one thing you can’t deny is his leadership. As many know, he is now retiring from football after 17 seasons in the NFL and he is walking away a champion.

Ray Lewis

When I need to find a little motivation in my life, I often head for YouTube as that pick-me-up. After watching a few bios on Ray Lewis and some other motivational videos I wanted to share with you some of the best motivation that I have heard thus far. You don’t have to be a sports fan to appreciate what athletes have to say because their words transcend into anything that you are passionate for in your life:

-When it comes to success you have to be willing to give up sleep. When the rapper 50 cent was working on his movie he was asked “what do you do when you aren’t filming?” he replied “I’m working on the soundtrack for the film.” The interviewer asked when he has time for sleep and 50 replied “sleep is for those who are broke.” In order to accomplish something you have to be willing to sacrifice other things including giving up sleep to be successful.

Will Smith the actor said it very well in an interview when he talked about success. I’m paraphrasing but he said that he doesn’t consider himself the most talented person, but he is willing to work harder than anyone else. He said, “I’m not afraid to die on a treadmill. You might have more talent than me, you might be smarter than me, but if we get on a treadmill…you are getting off first or I’m going to die… it’s really that simple.”

-When People get out of bed in the morning, whatever time that may be, they usually go eat breakfast. Some people will go to the gym or run, others will prepare for their day. Once you are done with all of that in the morning then you need to spend the rest of your day in action. What people like to do is just talk. They talk about how they are going to work on this or that. They get excited just from talking. If instead you spend that time in action and actually doing something then you will find yourself levels above the rest. I guarantee you that.

Most of these motivation pieces came from a single video that I found and that I linked to this blog. They are all so true for anyone and everyone who has ever been passionate for something. For anyone who has ever wanted to do something that they didn’t think they could do. It is so true that we get all excited about talking doing something yet that dissipates over the course of the day. Then the second somebody brings it up again we get all excited and then we continue to do nothing. I’m telling you to stop talking and start doing. As he said in the video, “Get out of neutral, get into drive. Don’t let your words guide you, let your actions guide you.”

Can’t Is Not An Excuse

Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

