Posted by: altmike | February 22, 2013

Everything Happens for a Reason

Einstein%20lightbulb%20cartoon-1

A wise man once said, “everything happens for a reason.”

I personally believe whole heartily in this saying.  Now there are two ways to look at this saying. One, from the “end result” perspective. As in, “I studied day in and day out in high school so that that I could be accepted to college.” All my hard work led to me to be accepted to college therefor the reason for me going to college was the end result of my hard work. The other perspective that is taken on this saying is the more common one, which I call the “yet to be determined.” This is where something happens in your life that is usually beyond your control and the reason for that has yet to be seen or learned. I look at myself as an example for the “yet to be determined” version. I was born with a physical deformity that at birth I had no control over. I have since learned that the reason for this is to help inspire and motivate others to overcome their obstacles.

This leads me to my second point. I had a choice in determining what that reason for my deformity was. I had two choices, I could have grown up looking at what I was given with positivity or I could have looked at it with cynicism. I chose to see myself as unique and to use this gift as a tool to teach others. I could have chosen the easier choice and been angry at my situation. I could have expected the world to just hand me everything because I was “disabled” and lived in a world where I felt like an outcast and a reject. But I chose not be that person. Had I gone done that route, the so called “reason” for my hands would have been so that I was just another statistic. Another person with a deformity seeking pity from others in order to make themselves feel better.

I thankfully stand before you as a person that chose to defy the odds and not accept people’s pity as justification for my circumstance. Yes, everything happens for a reason, but we have a choice in determining what that reason is. Whether you are religious or not; whether you pray to God, Jesus, Allah or a rock in your backyard, there is a reason bigger than you for why something has happened. Some people call it fate, other call it good/bad luck. I like to think that when more good things happen to you than bad, that means that you have earned those good things in one way or another. And the so called bad things are tests; Tests to see whether or not you can turn a negative into a positive.

Believe me, every single one of you is able to turn something unfortunate into something that can be learned from or that can help others. We all possess the cognitive power to do this, however it is your choice whether or not you are going to make that “reason” something positive.

Can’t is not an Excuse

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Living the dream…by Maria Maness and commented:
    I agree…100%. We can’t control a lot of things in our lives, but what we can control is how we react and what we do with what we have…

  2. Thank you for your words and perspective. We lost our little girl to abs on nov. 26, 2012. The band was wrapped around her hands binding them to her cord. It caused her to not get enough nutrition and pass in utero.
    Thank you for sharing your story, had she lived her hands would have been simular to yours. In some way it helps to know she could have lived a beautiful, hopeful life. Thank you so much for your amazing attitude!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

