Posted by: altmike | May 12, 2013

Think Positive

Happiness-Hands1

For the past couple of weeks I have really been thinking about what differentiates people. Why are some people extremely happy every day and why are others completely miserable. I have always tried to look at the glass half full when it comes to life and I was trying to pinpoint why I think that way when others don’t. Then it hit me, it’s that crazy intricate piece of machinery we have called our brains mixed with a little positivity.

I have talked before about how having a positive outlook can benefit you and if you surround yourself with the right people your outlook on life will improve as well. But I’m here to tell you today that you need to battle your own brain and win with positivity. Let me explain. When something goes wrong in our lives or something happens that puts us in a bad mood we make a conscious choice at that moment to allow whatever is going on externally to affect us internally. This is why bullying is so prominent and affects our youth as much as it does. When someone calls me a name, I can either allow that negative remark to affect me and I can allow it to bother me until I forget about it or I can hear it, register it, disregard it and move on while still having my positive mood intact.

Trust me when I say this, I don’t like being sad. I hate being upset and I despise being depressed. So how do I combat those characteristics? I put a smile on my face…not a fake smile, but a real one. I am truly happy every morning when I wake up because guess what?… There isn’t anything going on that I should let my outlook be affected in a negative way from the moment I open my eyes in the morning. I am alive, I have the ability to smile and I know that if I can spread happiness to others then that means I have impacted their day in a positive way and that one of my daily goals is accomplished.

Things obviously happen throughout a person’s day that is uncontrollable, granted. However we make a cognoscente decision with every event as to how we choose to let it affect us. Here is my litmus test for if something bad happens:

Did anyone die?

If the answer is no then it can’t be that bad. If no one died then I should be able to organize my thoughts and emotions in a way to try to make the situation better. Our mind is a tricky mechanism, but it’s one that we can control with positivity.

Go into everyday with a smile on your face. Spread happiness, not despair. Believe it or not, but you happiness subconsciously affects everyone around you, so be a positive resource for your fellow peers!

Can’t is Not an Excuse

Responses

  1. Something I’ll try to do. Auntie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

