Posted by: altmike | May 23, 2013

Inspiration: Ashley Saathoff and the St. Baldricks Foundation

404977_462232050496237_2013422356_nSometimes the most influential and inspirational people are the ones that we walk along side us every single day and we don’t even think twice about them. So is true with a coworker that I have at the clothing store that I work at. I always love working with this one person in particular because her smile could brighten up a room in a matter of seconds, so it was no surprise that she did one of the most courageous  and selfless acts I have ever heard of. She shaved her head completely and donated her long beautiful hair to St. Baldricks in order to raise money for cancer research and to stand proudly beside those who have been forced to lose their hair.

Ashley Saathoff is a senior at Damonte Ranch high School and as I said is a co-worker of mine as well. One night as I was scrolling along my Facebook feed, I saw picture of her in a chair getting her haircut…I thought cool, no big deal. Then as I scrolled more I noticed her head was completely shaved and she had none other but the St. Baldricks logo draped across her. I was incredibly proud to say that I knew someone who has donated their hair for such a great cause. By the way, she did this TWO WEEKS before her senior prom! In today’s society, where everyone is so caught up about their image and how they look especially during their high school years, this young lady made the ultimate sacrifice and did it with a smile on her face.

157090_10200666855421443_887125409_n

Soon after this courageous act, I learned that donating and giving back isn’t something new to the Saathoff family. They have been helping out with the Northern Nevada children’s Cancer foundation as well as many other local organizations in town. Her motivation for doing this was in honor of one of her friends that was diagnosed with cancer at an early age. Her mother Dawn is also a cancer survivor and was sitting right by her side that night donating her own hair as well.

This just goes to prove that you don’t have to be rich or a superstar to make a difference. Everyone has the ability to impact somebodies life but the question is, do they have the courage to do what it takes to make that difference? Ashley and her family without a doubt have made a difference in the community and in cancer research. Its stories like these that truly inspire me and remind me about how much good there really is in people’s hearts. We need more people like this Ashley in this world. I am so proud of her and can’t wait to see how she is going to positively impact this world in the years to come!

539195_525173737535401_1926502796_nI encourage all of my readers to learn more about St. Baldricks and what a wonderful organization it is. You don’t have to shave your head to get involved either; they have many other events and fundraisers that you can be a part of in your local community.  I hope this motivates you to do a selfless act to help someone out in your community. We are all capable of extraordinary things…It just takes courage!

Cant is Not an Excuse

Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

