Posted by: altmike | June 4, 2013

Lucky Fin Project Rocks

LFPLOGO

It is amazing what you can find on the internet these days and how connected people have become. I am so glad I stumbled upon this website a couple weeks back because I found one of the best organizations to date. I was doing a search for website that deals with people who have missing hands or limbs and I found the Lucky Fin Project.

tumblr_m7koy80n9n1qdx2cyo1_400About three years ago Molly Stapelman started the lucky fin project for her daughter Ryan who was born with Symbrachydactyly. This left Ryan with a perfectly normal left hand and a “Lucky fin” on her right hand. Her right hand has one full finger which is her thumb and four nubs similar to mine.  The name “Lucky Fin” came from the movie Finding Nemo, where Nemo had one fin that was just a little different from all the rest but could still accomplish anything he set out to do.  In 2010, Molly began to make bracelets to celebrate her daughter and other kids and adults who have limb differences. From there, the sky was the limit. To date they have made over four thousand bracelets and have connected with people all over the world.

They are a non-profit organization that is out there to help raise awareness for children and parents who suffer from a limb difference. I am so proud of what they are doing because I know that had an organization like this been around when I was younger, it would have made all the difference for me and my family. They are reaching out to families all across the world to offer support and hope for those dealing with a limb difference.

A quote from their website, “A child being born with a limb difference is not tragic. It’s extremely important to show our children how capable & wonderfully made they are. If we treat them as flawed or limited that is who they will believe themselves to be- and that would be the tragedy.”…..I couldn’t have said it better myself!

385927_617863954897146_1075985849_nI want all of my followers to go check out their website to learn more about this great organization and family. They also have created one of my favorite shirts that I have seen. It says, “Ten fingers are overrated,” you have to go check it out for yourself by clicking this link here! Lucky Fin Project Rocks!

Can’t Is Not An Excuse

Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

