Posted by: altmike | September 23, 2013

Make your A Game the only option

key_art_bring_your_a_game

A few days ago one of my managers at worked called me and asked me about my schedule and told me that my next shift was an important one and that I need to bring my “A Game.” The first thing I thought of was that, “I only have an A game.” I watched a video from Eric Thomas a couple months ago and he talked about this idea of the “A Game.” He said it perfectly, in essence, those who say this must come from a different mindset, where it is ok to have a B game and a C game but for people who have had to push through adversity they only have an A Game.

It got me to thinking though, how many of us think that we are putting in all 110% of our effort and how many just say that we are to reassure ourselves. I know personally that there are times when I’ll tell myself that I’m giving it all I have but the proof isn’t in the pudding. That’s when I think back to this idea; If you are going to put effort into something then you better give it everything you have. What’s the point of putting in some work and then the end result is anything less than amazing. We don’t do extraordinary things when we are giving our C game, no, its when we are ion our A game that we have to take a step back and realize what amazing things we are constructing and before we let that set in, we get right back to what it is that we were doing and don’t stop until its everything we expected plus some.

I can think of a perfect example of myself. I love to work out and to lift weights and I always set a goal that I am going to gain about 15 pounds of muscle and that I am going to get stronger. So I work out hard and build a regiment and stick to it for about a week or two. Then after that I let distractions set in, I lose focus, I get discouraged and I let that C game set in. I lose my regiment and two weeks later I realize that I haven’t moved towards my goal and have to restart. Instead of repeating the process over and over again with my C game, why don’t I just give it everything I have with my A Game and don’t stop until my goal is reached? That’s when I refocus, dig in and don’t look back. That’s when I’m officially in my A game.

We do this all the time in our daily lives and don’t realize why we haven’t got what we want out of life. It’s because we are stuck in our C Game. Commit to your goal starting today. If the goal is graduating, then dig in, grind it out and don’t let distractions get in the way. If it’s getting the job that you want, then you do everything humanly possible to earn it, go out of your comfort zone. If you are trying to make a team, then you practice every single day like you are competing against the world.

one hundred images

Stay hungry for your goals and don’t lose sight of them. Throw your B and C game in the trash and make you’re A game your only option. Go get what you want in life because you are the only thing standing in the way of where you are and where you want to be!

Can’t is not an Excuse

Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

