Posted by: altmike | June 17, 2016

Embrace Adaptation and Get After It

IMG_6615

Adaptation is one skill that everyone is given, yet very few people or only those with immense passion seem to tap into. Don’t make an excuse for something you don’t know how to do…take a deep breath, figure it out and execute it.

We live in a world today with videos and tutorials galore and yet very few of us are tapping into our potential skills out of fear of failure or judgment. This goes from everything from doing something as simple as holding a glass for me to learning how to play the guitar.

I always use the example of holding a big gulp cup or really any type of glass and rather than hold it from the side like “normal” people, I typically hold any type of cup underneath from the bottom. That is adaptation at the most mynute scale possible. Could I have just as easily forced those around me to cater to my every whim and make others hold cups for me and such…absolutely. I don’t and that’s because I have a ton of pride and want to be able to be independent and not have to rely on others.

Now let’s take this to other extreme. One skill I am super passionate about learning right now is learning how to play the guitar. I’ve picked up a guitar once or twice and tried different ways of holding it. I have even gone so far as lying the guitar face up on my lap and trying to play it that way. Now I want to learn how to play an entire song and I have enlisted the help of a friend. Is it going to be tough to learn?…probably. Will I get frustrated at times?…most likely. Will it be out of my comfort zone…Absolutely! And that is probably why I most want to learn because it is challenging, it will test my limits and my patience and give me a new appreciation for the art. Could I just as easy thought about playing the guitar and saying “Na, I’m good. I probably can’t do that. I’ll just leave that to the guitar players.” You are damn right I could have, but honestly, what is the fun in that? Where is the fun of playing it safe and never challenging yourself? Why live a life of complacency when we were made to be so much more?

Don’t be scared to try something new just because adaptation might be a necessary partner to have. Challenge yourself each and every day and never settle. My parents always told me growing up that you can do anything you set your mind to…You may have to do it a little differently than everyone else but you can still do it!”

I believe that advice with every ounce of my soul and I believe that every single one of you can do anything you set your mind to as well.

Now go get after it!

Can’t is Not an Excuse

Leave a Reply

Categories

Prudence's Place

A Place for Pondering

Coach Barandeh

I will be blogging about the teams I coach and included in my blog will be game recaps, coaching experiences, and coaching tips.

zen habits

Can't is not an Excuse

Lolly Daskal

Can't is not an Excuse

Training – tonyrobbins.com

Can't is not an Excuse

